Brian Conley Elected as chairperson of Mount San Jacinto Winter Park Authority for 2023

PALM SPRINGS — Brian E. Conley, retired educator and public servant, has been elected 2023 Chairperson of the Mount San Jacinto Winter Park Authority, governing body of the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway. Conley was appointed to the Authority by Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. in 2018.

Conley has spent most of his life in public service, beginning as a college administrator/professor at Golden West College in Huntington Beach, California for nearly four decades. Throughout his life, Conley has served on the California Student Aid Commission, on the Board of Governors of California Community Colleges and as an aide to a U.S. congressman. He is also the retired 24-year Board President of Rancho Santiago Community College District in Orange County, California. Additionally, Conley is a member of the Faculty Association of California Community Colleges and a lifetime member of the Association of Community College Trustees, after previously serving as California State Chair for three years. Conley earned a Master of Arts degree in fine arts and education, as well as furthering his education with advanced studies at UCLA and Pepperdine University. He now resides in Big Bear Lake.

During his many years of service and dedication to education, Conley has been recognized for his achievements by the California State Assembly, the California State Senate and the United States Congress. He now brings his expertise in public policy and years of institutional management to the Mount San Jacinto Winter Park Authority as chairperson.

“I am honored to be named the 2023 Chair of the Mount San Jacinto Winter Park Authority,” Conley said in a prepared statement. “I look forward to using my knowledge in public policy and sharing in the planning of the Tramway’s 60th anniversary celebration this year.”

Also elected for 2023 offices are Vice Chair Jeff Ohlfs, Secretary Sandra Magana-Cuellar, and Treasurer Nancy Stuart.

The current Authority members are Jerry Ogburn and Nancy Stuart appointed by the Palm Springs City Council; Bary Freet and Brian Nestande appointed by the Riverside County Board of Supervisors; and Sandra Magana-Cuellar and Jeff Ohlfs appointed by the Governor.


Image Sources

  • Brian Conley: Palm Springs Aerial Tramway