Senior Inspiration Awards luncheon set for March 30

INDIO – More than 500 people are expected to attend this year’s Senior Inspiration Awards. Mayors from all Coachella Valley cities and County Supervisor V. Manuel Perez will be on hand to honor 11 outstanding senior citizen volunteers, who inspire people of all ages to get involved in organizations that help the community.

The 31st Annual Senior Inspiration Awards luncheon will be held Thursday, March 30 at the Fantasy Springs Resort Special Events Center, Hall A, 84-245 Indio Springs Parkway, Indio. Guests can begin arriving at 10 a.m. and the program goes from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Tickets are $38 per person and include lunch and dessert alongside the awards program. Tickets can be purchased online at A table of eight can be reserved for $340.

Senior Inspiration Awards to Honor 11

Marco Revuelta

Senior Inspiration Awards to Honor 11

Brooke Beare

This year’s program will be emceed by Emmy Award-Winning Journalist and Government Communicator Brooke Beare and Marco Revuelta, Multimedia Journalist with Noticias Telemundo 15 Palm Springs and KESQ News Channel 3.

“The Senior Inspiration Awards is a valley-wide tradition honoring 11 senior citizen volunteers, for their continuing service to many local organizations,” Perez said in a statement. “Through sponsorships, we are able to keep the cost of the luncheon down so people can come out, enjoy a nice meal and special program while supporting this event and helping it continue for the future. Please join us as the Coachella Valley community honors an exceptional group of individuals, from all throughout our valley who help make our communities better, at the Senior Inspiration Awards.”

This event was established in 1992 by Riverside County and all nine Coachella Valley cities to recognize the community’s unsung heroes, senior citizens 65 years of age and older who inspire others through their volunteerism and contributions to the community.

This year’s honorees are: Martha Gutierrez and William “Bill” Senso (Riverside County), Jo Anne Kennon (Cathedral City), Javier R. Graciano (Coachella), Teresa Valencia Sanchez (Desert Hot Springs), Ginny Whitman (Indian Wells), Sylvia Tenorio (Indio), Ada Nuckels (La Quinta), Betty Baxter (Palm Desert), Evernell Black (Palm Springs) and Mary Lou Suter (Rancho Mirage).

Lunch includes salad, a choice of vegan or chicken or salmon entrée, and dessert, along with complimentary coffee and iced tea. There will also be music by local jazz band Heatwave Show Band.

In addition to the website, tickets can be purchased by calling 760-863-2556 and mailing a check to Alexis Perez, 73-710 Fred Waring Dr., Suite 222, Palm Desert. Checks should be made payable to the Regional Access Project Foundation.


Image Sources

  • 2023 Senior Inspiration Awards Honorees: Supervisor Perez's office