Democrats of the Desert Announces its 2020 Endorsements

RANCHO MIRAGE —Democrats of the Desert (DOD), one of the area’s largest Democratic clubs, has finalized its endorsements for local elections.

DOD established an endorsement committee comprised of: Steve Brooks, DOD citizens lobby chair; Michael Finland, DOD candidate development chair and chair of the committee; and Stephen Jaffe, DOD vice president.

“This year is especially exciting because so many strong Democratic candidates stepped up to run to serve their communities,” Finland said in a prepared statement. “I want to personally convey my gratitude toward each of the candidates who participated in this process. It was encouraging to interview such a vast array of eclectic, astute and community minded individuals. It was our privilege to hear their insights, enthusiasm and vision.”

Collectively, the committee reached out to 55 candidates, and 30 agreed to participate in the survey and interview process. Each candidate completed a 15-question survey and met, via Zoom, with committee members to elaborate on their ideas, observations and plans. The committee presented its recommendations to the Board of Directors, which approved them, and then conducted an electronic vote of the membership. That vote––completed on Sept. 29, 2020––was overwhelmingly approved by the DOD membership.

Democrats of the Desert is a community-based political organization, which studies local and national issues and makes recommendations to members and/or other individuals in the community.  On the basis of knowledge, verifiable information, and consensus, the Club seeks to influence decision-making and the electoral process by educating the electorate, and supporting qualified Democrats who wish to run for office. DOD’s members reside in towns across the Coachella Valley.

This year, Democrats of the Desert endorses:


Cathedral City, City Council
Alan Carvalho, District 1
Nancy Ross, District 2

Coachella City Council
Lesly Figueroa (for Mayor)
Denise Delgado
Neftali Galarza

Desert Hot Springs City Council
Roger Valles Nunez

Indio City Council
Erin Teran, District 1
Frank Ruiz, District 5

Palm Desert City Council
Karina Quintanilla, District 1
Steven E. Moyer, District 2

Palm Springs City Council
Christy Holstege, District 4
Lisa Middleton, District 5


College of the Desert Trustee
Beatriz Gonzalez, District 2

Coachella Valley Unified School District
Stephanie Virgen, Area 1
Jocelyn Alfaro Vargas, Area 4

Desert Sands School District
Patricia Ann (“Tricia”) Pearce, District 3

Palm Springs School District
Laura Ahmed, District 1


Desert Water District
Raymond Louis Amico, District 5

Desert Recreation District
Joanne Gilbert, Division 3

For more information, send an email to [email protected]