PALM DESERT – On Dec. 1, the Riverside County Sheriff’s Office will conduct a driving under the influence (DUI) Checkpoint from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. at an undisclosed location.
DUI checkpoint locations are determined based on data showing incidents of impaired driving-related crashes. The primary purpose of DUI checkpoints is to promote public safety by taking suspected impaired drivers off the road.
“Impaired drivers put others on the road at significant risk,” Sgt. Don Olson said. “Any prevention measures that reduce the number of impaired drivers on our roads significantly improves traffic safety.
The Riverside County Sheriff’s Office – Palm Desert, reminds the public that impaired driving is not just from alcohol. Some prescription medications and over-the-counter drugs may interfere with driving. While medicinal and recreational marijuana are legal, driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal.
Drivers charged with a first-time DUI face an average of $13,500 in fines and penalties, as well as a suspended license.
A first offense DUI in California is a misdemeanor. The penalties for a first DUI in California include 3 to 5 years of probation, $390 to $1000 in fines plus penalty assessments, DUI school, a 6-month driver’s license suspension, and installation of an ignition interlock device1. Some counties also impose a short amount of jail time or work release. The fine for a first misdemeanor DUI in California is $390 to $1,000 plus penalty assessments and fees that can raise the total up to $3,600.
Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
- Sobriety Checkpoint Ahead: Shutterstock