Now that votes are finally certified, the city of Palm Springs will hold a swearing-in ceremony

PALM SPRINGS — One of the biggest days for a candidate in any election, after winning, of course, is the official swearing-in ceremony.

When persons elected to office take the oath, they swear or affirm that they will faithfully and impartially discharge the duties of the office to the best of their ability.

Newly elected residents and the one reelected will be sworn into office on Thursday, Dec. 15 at an in-person City Council meeting, Communications Director Amy Blaisdell said.

Family members and friends often attend, and the newly elected City Council members are subjects for a multitude of photo

Palm Springs Swearing-in Ceremony Scheduled

Mayor Pro Tem Grace Garner

This particular swearing-in will go down in history when incumbent Mayor Pro Tem Grace Garner is sworn in as the first Latina in Palm Springs history to serve as mayor. She, like others, will serve a one-year rotation ceremonially leading the city.

Garner is a second-generation Palm Springs resident who was elected to serve a three-year term representing District 1 in November 2019.

She had a fierce competitor. Certified results show Grace Elena Garner netting 1,463 votes for 51.12% while her competitor Scott Nevins garnered 1,399 for 48.88% of the votes cast.

This could be a banner year for Garner in her personal life as well. In January, she submitted her application to become a resource parent (formerly called foster parent), Garner told Uken report. She is currently waiting on her final approval and placement.

Others who will be sworn in on Dec. 15 are Jeffrey Bernstein in District 2 and Ron deHarte District 3.

District 2 certified results are:

  • Jeffrey Bernstein, 1,990 votes, or 54.42%
  • Renée Brown, 1,667 votes, or 45.58%

Bernstein fills the void created when Dennis Woods chose not to seek reelection.

District 3 certified results are:

  • Ron deHarte, 1,966 votes, or 64.69%
  • Joy Meredith, 1,073 votes, 35.31% percent

deHarte will fill Geoff Kors’ seat. He did not seek reelection.

Image Sources

  • Grace Garner: Grace Garner
  • Palm Springs City Hall: Shutterstock