As California reopens, here is a primer on what will change in Palm Springs
As a result of significantly fewer COVID-19 virus cases and success with increased vaccinations, California will fully reopen its economy today, Tuesday, June 15, removing restrictions for the public that have been in place for many months. However, CalOSHA’s stricter, existing mask and distance requirements for workers remain in place, until Thursday, June 17.
Here is a rundown of what will change in Palm Springs for residents and visitors:
Fully vaccinated individuals will no longer need to wear face coverings in most indoor and outdoor settings. However, individuals will still be required to wear a mask on airplanes, buses, trains, in airports and transportation stations. Unvaccinated or partially vaccinated individuals will be required to wear face coverings outside of their home. Private businesses may continue to require customers wear face coverings.
The following individuals are exempt from wearing face coverings at all times:
- Persons younger than 2-years-old
- Persons with a medical condition, mental health condition, or disability that prevents wearing a mask. This includes persons with a medial condition for whom wearing a mask could obstruct breathing.
- Persons who are hearing impaired, or communicating with a person who is hearing impaired, where the ability to see the mouth is essential for communication.
- Persons for whom wearing a mask would create a risk to the person related to their work, as determined by local, state or federal regulators or workplace safety guidelines.
RESTAURANTS AND RETAIL
Restaurants, bars and retail stores, theaters, amusement parks, places of worship, hotels and entertainment centers may return to normal operations with no restrictions on capacity limitations. Social distancing will no longer be required for attendees, customers and guests.
BIG EVENTS REQUIRE PROOF OF VACCINATION
Proof of vaccination or a negative COVID-19 test will be required for indoor events with more than 5,000 attendees, and recommended for outdoor events with more than 10,000 attendees, through Oct. 1. A vaccination card, a photo of a vaccination card or documentation of vaccination from a healthcare provider can be used to show as proof. A COVID-19 test must be conducted within 72 hours before an event. A printed document, email or text message displaying test results must be shown.
Starting June 17, 2021, fully vaccinated workers will not be required to wear masks at work. Those not vaccinated will still have to wear masks when working indoors or in a vehicle.
RESIDENTIAL AND COMMERCIAL EVICTIONS
For residential tenancies, beginning July 1, 2021, residential landlords can take their tenants to small claims court in order to recover unpaid rent debt, regardless of how much the tenant owes.
In addition, by June 30, 2021 residential tenants must pay at least 25% of the rent due during the period of September 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021, to avoid an eviction action being filed.
Finally, beginning July 1, 2021, residential tenants will have to pay the full amount of their future rent in order to be protected from eviction.
For more information about COVID-19 laws regarding residential landlord/tenant relationships, click here.
For commercial tenancies, until July 1, 2021, a commercial landlord cannot attempt to evict certain qualifying commercial tenants if that tenant is unable to pay rent because of COVID-19 reasons. In order to receive such protections, the tenant:
- Must have been legally required to close or reduce operations, based on the fact that the tenant was within an industry that was closed or limited due to COVID-19 restrictions;
- Must stay current on rent going forward, starting with April 2021 rent; and
- Cannot be a chain establishment.
To view the city’s ordinance regarding commercial evictions, click here.
- Open: Shutterstock