INDIAN WELLS – Excitement is palpable as the 2019 BNP Paribas Open gets underway in the coming days and weeks at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

Make no mistake: There is something for the entire family.

Some of the biggest names in tennis will be on the court. There are special events for Veterans, there’s a host of new adult beverages, and there is a set-aside time especially for children.

On Saturday, March 2, the Indian Wells Tennis Garden welcomes families with children of all ages out to the venue for the annual popular Kids Day, a free event with a wealth of fun activities both on and off the court.

The event will feature on-court tennis clinics, yoga, arts and crafts, a climbing wall, live music, Harper for Kids, and special appearances by ATP Tour and WTA professional players.

Harper for Kids is a youth character development program based upon legendary UCLA Coach John Wooden’s “Pyramid of Success.”

Also, Kids’ Day attendees can jump over to the Oracle Challenger Series and find out which players will get a wild card into the BNP Paribas Open.

Kids Day festivities run from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. No pre-registration is required.

The professional tennis tournament draws hundreds of thousands of spectators to the Coachella Valley.  In 2018, the BNP Paribas Open was heralded a tremendous success. Some 450,502 people attended the two-week event from March 5 to March 18. It was the second highest attendance ever, behind only 2015 when 456,672 people attended.

The BNP Paribas Open, to be held March 4-17 at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, has released its entry lists, which are highlighted by all of the top 75 ranked singles players on the WTA and ATP Tour.

Ten former singles champions will descend on the desert in 2019: Juan Martín Del Potro (2018); Naomi Osaka (2018); Simona Halep (2015); Novak Djokovic (2008, 2011, 2014-2016); Roger Federer (2004-2006, 2012, 2017); Rafael Nadal (2007, 2009, 2013); Serena Williams (1999; 2001); Maria Sharapova (2006, 2013); Victoria Azarenka (2012, 2016); and Caroline Wozniacki (2011).