Veterans of the Year Ceremony for the 56th Assembly District

COACHELLA – Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia, D–Coachella, will hold a ceremony to award Lauren Skiver and Edward Robles as the 56th Assembly District’s 2019 Veterans of the Year. The ceremony will be held at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 6.

Two Coachella Valley residents will receive the Veterans of the Year honor. They are:

  • Lauren Skiver, CEO of SunLine Transit Agency, 2019 Veteran of the Year Honoree
  • Edward A. Robles, Founder of Mission Veteran, 2019 Veteran of the Year Honoree

Skiver served nine years in the U.S. Army, specializing in Military Intelligence as an Imagery Analyst and served during Operations Desert Shield and Desert Storm. Since 2013, she has been the CEO/General Manager of SunLine Transit Agency where she remains excited to lead the delivery of transit services to the Coachella Valley and continue the effort of SunLine’s Zero Emission Bus program.

Veterans of the Year Named in AD 56

Edward A. Robles

After completing eight years in the U.S. Navy, Mr. Robles attended College of the Desert where he founded the Students Veterans Organization and served as the inaugural President. He founded Mission Veteran (501c3) in 2017, a non-profit organization that provides educational, recreational, and osupportive services to veterans and their families during service related, transitional and common stressors. Mr. Robles also serves as a member of several veteran advisory committees throughout Riverside County.

“After bravely answering the call of duty to our nation, these two distinguished veterans have continued their tradition of leadership and service here in our Coachella Valley. It is my honor to recognize and bestow ‘Veteran of the Year’ titles to such extraordinary patriots and pillars of our community,” Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia said in a news release.

The ceremony to honor the Veterans of  the Year will be held at Coachella Veteran’s Memorial Park, 1515 6th St., Coachella, CA 92236 (Behind City Hall, Between Orchard and Vine)






Image Sources

  • Edward A. Robles: Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia
  • Lauren Skiver: Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia